Hey sorry guys!! School has been keeping me pretty busy so I haven’t been able to sit down and write for awhile. I always want too, but by the time I get back to my room, exercise, take a shower, eat, finish homework–it’s 10:00 and it’s my bedtime. But I’ll try better 😉

This week has been pretty good to me. I’ve gotten down closer to my goal for this month (only 2 days left so I better do something…fast), and that 160 is right there I can taste it!! But like always things come up, but that’s okay–sometimes you need a “splurge” day, or a day out with a good friend, or making random meals because your roommate has a friend over it’s all cool! So last night I made two dishes that I (we) ate on today. I made an easy farmer’s casserole and for the first time I actually (and I think successfully) made cauliflower pizza crust.

The farmer’s cassarole was pretty easy to make and I made it all last night, popped it into the fridge overnight, popped it into the oven this morning–and I must say…my roommates loved it. This particular casserole made 12 servings, and it was delicious, it really does, but I but say that I think I like my the one my mom makes better. So I’ll have to put that recipe down here for you guys to try after this one. 😉

IMG_1711

The cauliflower pizza crust was a bit more challenging due to the fact that I couldn’t find cheesecloth ANYWHERE!! So I resorted to using a tea towel which made for a bit more muscle work and burning of my hands before I got all that water out. But I baked it, put it in the fridge, added the condiments before lunch, baked for about 15 minutes to melt the cheese–and I was surprised at how much I actually liked it. (As you can tell from the 3 pieces I devoured.)

IMG_1712

Now the thing about these two dishes is that the casserole (at least the way I made it) is about 101 calories for a serving, and the pizza (divided by eight) was 102 calories per slice. O_O SAY WHAT?!?!?!?! Yes, yes…this is what I love about experimenting with food (but don’t get me wrong…real pizza, I mean dough, will always hold my heart), but this wasn’t bad. I actually liked the pizza enough to think I’m going to make it for my family when I go home sometimes over Thanksgiving or Christmas break. I think my dad would really like it! Course….the only thing I would suggest is trying to make the crust thicker. I made (about) a 12 inch pizza crust so it was really thin, and I’m not a thin crust type of gal. Along those lines, it fell a part a bit when you went to pick it up. (I’m actually wondering if that was because I didn’t get out as much water as I thought when I strained the cauliflower.)

So I’m thinking about trying other different pizza toppings on this crust, but cheese being my favorite and this was an experiment, I thought it best to go with that. Not bad for a crazy weekend. Now with fall approaching, be ready for warm recipes–cause they will be coming 😀

I hope you guys like these recipes, and don’t worry–I’ll be back with other stuff this week!

Cauliflower Pizza Crust: http://ifoodreal.com/cauliflower-pizza-crust-recipe/

Farmer’s Casserole: http://www.aaronandyolanda.com/2013/08/farmers-casserole.html

