I’m still on this whole, “Royals are in the playoffs” kick. I was even watching the game, but when it got to the bottom of the 9th and they were still tied….I totally had to go to bed. Waking up early and doing laundry isn’t something I was too excited about either….but it needed to be done, and living in an apartment/dorm setting where EVERYONE has to share the laundry room…it’s the only thing to do.

But today is Friday, and because of that it’s FITNESS FRIDAY!!!!! (Eh, the big booming voice in my head made that sound cooler.) Like I said on Wednesday, reached my goal of 160 and so this week I’ve been fighting this 159 stall. Not that I’m complaining about stalling at 159, I mean I have 28 days to lose 5 pounds, but I kind of enjoy when I see that number drop. However, it’s October and because of this I’ve started experimenting with food. So I want to share this week’s “experiments” with you guys! First off, to those that know me, might know that I have a massive LOVE for oatmeal. Yes, you read that right….I love me some oatmeal!!!! I love everything about oatmeal and what I love most is experimenting with oatmeal. Of course I do have my favorites that I always return to:

What I call the No-Bake Cookie Oatmeal:

1/2 cup Quaker Old-Fashioned Oats, 1 Tbsp Hersey’s Dark Cocoa Powder, 1/4 cup milk (regular or whatever you prefer), 1/2 Tbsp of Natural Peanut Butter, and some chocolate chips for garnish.

Didn’t realize that a recipe I tried this week was basically this–except minus the Peanut Butter. (I knew it tasted weird ๐Ÿ˜› but it was still delicious!!! ) Oh, this recipe also had 1/2 a mashed banana in it, if you want to put that in too….it’s good either way.

IMG_1704

Next I introduce something I made up: Elvis Oatmeal. Basically it’s my favorite sandwich, (Peanut butter, honey, banana) in oatmeal form. (SAY WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?!? HECK YES!!!!!!!! ) ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ So this one is

1/2 cup Quaker Old-Fashioned Oats, 1/2 Tbsp Natural Peanut Butter, 1/2 of a banana, 1/4 cup milk, and then top off with a drizzle of honey.

IMG_1697

I then tried this new recipe I found called Pumpkin Protein Cinnamon Rolls. These aren’t bad actually. See you’re supposed to make them with Cinnamon Roll protein powder….but I don’t have any and so I improvised with using vanilla protein instead. Still not bad and I’ll probably make them again. Makes 4 rolls, really easy to make a head, and then pop into the microwave the next morning. I would say….you should try them!

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

IMG_1717

Here’s a recipe that I wasn’t really excited about, but I needed to try it before I made any judgements. Again, it wasn’t bad–just not my cup of tea…..or quinoa…….whatever. So this is called Pumpkin Spice Quinoa and it wasn’t bad just weird. Course, I’m still getting used to the taste quinoa gives, (make sure you rinse it first), and then the pumpkin and maple just made a weird combo to my taste buds. Here’s the link to the recipe. So try it and then let me know what you think!!!

http://www.onceuponacuttingboard.com/2013/10/pumpkin-spice-breakfast-quinoa.html

IMG_1719

Lastly, (for this week at least) is the Apple Pie Oatmeal. This was a bit different for me, because usually (and probably like most people) I just put all the ingredients in the bowl and then put it in the microwave. But this one I actually decided to make it stove top. I did this so I could soften up some of the apple chunks that are in the dish. So the recipe goes like this:

1/2 cup Quaker Old-Fashioned Oats

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup milk (I think I might just use water only if I ever make this again and then put a dab of milk after)

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

I thought that there was a bit too much of a nutmeg taste to make it an “apple pie”, so I added some more cinnamon and then some brown sugar just to liven it up. I can’t decide if I liked it or not….so I guess I’ll just have to make it again. ๐Ÿ˜›

apple

I also have these other recipes that I tried and did like: Fruit parfaits

2 Tbsp Kind Maple Quinoa Granola

4-5 oz Greek Vanilla Yogurt (I use Dannon Light & Fit Greek. Only 80 calories and tastes AMAZING)

Favorite fruit (I use either 2 tbsp of frozen blueberries or 1/4 cup cherries)

Also this…..I wasn’t hesitant about this….but this guys is actually really good and very filling!!!!

Blueberry Cheesecake Snack

Sorry for such a long post, but I wanted to get all these in one post!!! Hope you guys try some of these and let me know what you think!!!! And I’ll talk to ya’ll later!!!! LET’S GO ROYALS!!!! (oh, and the Chiefs too ๐Ÿ˜› )

