7a347d558bd9dfad20f51745943f81bb

I was sitting here thinking about all the names that we give the days of the week: Man Candy Monday, Transformation Tuesday, Woman Candy Wednesday, Throwback Thursday, Flashback Friday…..me I came up with Weight Loss Wednesday, Fitness Friday, and Slim Saturday. My prayer in life, is that when I get kids they won’t find that being a MCM or a WCW is the greatest thing in the world. I want them to realize that no matter what, they are handsome and beautiful no matter what anyone else says. But in honor of MCM ( 😛 ), I want to talk about the man who made me: my daddy.

179b2cf28c75d719f2f6daabb13ad172

Being the only girl in the family does have perks, course so does having an older brother. Because not only is the above true about my dad, but David did the same thing–in his strangely, brotherly kind of way. Course, there are regrets about being that annoying “baby sister”, I wish I could go back in time and fix that–cause I believe it effected my relationship with my bro, to the point that we don’t have the brother/sister relationship I would want. (But I’ll talk about David later on in life, this is about my dad HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!)

My dad is probably the hardest working man that I know, and even though my brother and I might absolutely hate his guts sometimes–we can’t deny that he has done so much for us. He’s always been there for us. Taught us how to shoot, dribble, throw a baseball, bat properly, change the oil in our cars, the meaning between right and wrong, love God, be a Godly man and woman, love the land, love each other, love our family, and every other thing that dad’s should teach their kids. I can’t imagine my life without my dad and in my opinion (I can’t speak for my brother) Dad has given us an example of what a man should be like. He’s given us the model of what it means to be a hard worker, how to roll with life’s punches, what it means to be a neighbor. He’s given me the example of how a many should treat a woman, and some day I’ll find my Prince Charming, but Daddy will always be the king of my heart (right behind Jesus of course 😉 ).

04cc76d1a0e194aee0fcc18e61ebfdb0

I might be getting a bit mushy because it’s my dad and I can’t just not get mushy when doing so. I’m the chip off the old block, two people that are so alike that it made my grandma laugh one day at my grandpa, “Roy. Did you really think you could put 2 Scholz’s in the same room, let alone 3, and expect them not to butt heads and none of them agree?!” Then she started quietly laughing. It’s true. I have the blood of probably the three most stubborn cultures in the world: the Irish, Scots, and the Germans. But even though sometimes my dad and I don’t get along and we butt heads, yell at each other so the neighbors can hear, glare at each other, and give each other the silent treatment–we still love each other that we’ll come home, eat dinner and supper together as a family, and then cuddle on the couch.

I’m glad I have the relationship that I have with my dad, and I really wouldn’t want it any other way. I can’t imagine my life without him, and because I know a lot of people who have lost their dads…I celebrate each day I get to have with him. Even if I’m 600 miles (8 hours) away. So I challenge you, because I personally know so many dad’s that have gone on, I want you to take a moment and think of yours. Have you called him today? Thought about him? If you’re estranged from him–have you tried to patch things up? I know it can be tough, but you only have one dad, and like it or not–he’s yours.

Course it’s easy for me, I love my dad!! 🙂 And I know he has my back through everything I do, and that I’m truly thankful and grateful for!!! (Even when he gives Dave and I a hard time about stuff because he knows it annoys the crap out of us……………………..I might come to a point where I want to tell him to shut up…………)

So here’s to the man who taught me all I know, who made me who I am, and who taught me that it’s okay to listen to Christmas music in October! Love ya Daddy!!! You’re my hero!

1920635_10153884735125347_1994282116_n                   331019_10150995779950347_320053141_o

