Oh look, it’s Wednesday and I’m actually getting the chance to write something about weight loss! πŸ˜› Yeah, so these last two months of school have been chaotic, and surprisingly I haven’t let the stress get to me (too much….at least not yet….I hope….) and gained weight instead of losing it. I did reach my October goal of 155 and I reached my November/year end goal of 150 last Friday. (YAY!!!! I GOT TO IT BY THANKSGIVING BREAK!!!!!!) Ah, Thanksgiving……break is in only 7 days and then I’ll be able to go home for the first time since August. With absolutely no. Homework. (yyyyyyeeeessssssss, those stupid hours of pushing myself did come in handy. I’ve got everything crossed off my to-do lists so far!!!!)

Ok, this morning I was sitting at a whopping 150.6 so…..I can’t go any higher or I won’t beat it. πŸ˜› Though i’s okay, I’ve kind of plateau right at 150 which is kind of funny in my mind. However, if I could get lower (like 145), then if I gain it all back after eating Thanksgiving I won’t feel so bad because I’ll still be 150. (Yeah? Is that the right thinking?! I think so.)

Ok, like I’ve said, I’ve plateaued at 150 since last Friday, but if this is where my body wants to stay then that’s cool. However, only has long as me doing what I’m going to talk about will keep it there or go lower (or lose inches), then that’s fine. You probably saw the title and are probably thinking, “The battle. She must be talking about the weight loss battle she’s been in.” Actually…..I’m not. I’m about to come out with a truth that I’ve been hesitant about telling anyone, but I think it needs to be done. That way ya’ll can learn from my “mistakes” and don’t do them. πŸ˜›

The battle that I’m facing right now has to do with calorie intake. Now this might come as a shock to many of you, but here’s the truth about my calories. On my “high cal” day, I only manage less then 900 calories, and no less then 625 on my “low cal” days. Everyone’s probably like, “O_O OMG LISA!!!! WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU!?!?!?!??!?!” (well……………..)

Anyway, that’s just what I’ve done and I know the whole “you should never go below 1200 calories” thing that EVERYONE preaches on. Here’s the thing, every time I would break the 1000 point–I would gain weight, no matter what exercise I was doing or how hard I worked out, still gained weight. Some would say, “that’s just your body trying to get used that many calories”. True, that is most definitely true, however, for me 800 calories was enough. See, I’m not starving myself–don’t get that idea because those who know me know I love to eat, and some think that I’m eating all the time. But now I’m down to 150, so it’s time to try and see about adding some calories back in order to help, not only maintain my weight, but to help heal my body.

See, I got myself (again) into a state that’s called Athletic Amenorrhea. (WARNING TO BOYS: WOMAN STUFF AHEAD!!!) This is you don’t have 3 consecutive periods (I did spot in October so I don’t know if that counts as a cycle or not……cause I don’t). Some think that this is because of working out hard, but the source that I found says that this actually isn’t the case. It’s actually restrictive eating and heavy workouts. Their suggestion: need to find the balance of food and exercise. But here’s my problem, like I said–every time I raise my calories, I gain weight.

So what do I do? Do I raise my calories or do I stop my workouts? Here’s what I’m going to do. Slowly but surely, I’ll start to raise my calories up, but here’s the thing–I’m going to eat to be satisfied not to be full. I’ve come to find that 900 calories can be very filling, especially when you eat about 4-5 meals a day. I’m also going to be focusing on making sure I’m getting protein, iron, and all the other nutrients and healthy fats that I think my body might be missing. I’ll keep you guys up-to-date with how this goes, especially with the holidays coming up and…………CHRISTMAS TREATS!!!!! (You just can cannot make/eat cookies at Christmas time…….if you can…….well…….)

Anywho, that’s the battle that I’m experiencing right now. So it’s just getting it figured out because I still have that little bit of fat around my love handles and belly that I want to get rid of, Shaun T said something tonight that kind of goes along with this. He said losing those last inches isn’t just about exercising, it’s about what your eating. So if I’m not eating what I need to in order to replenish my battery (body) and also getting enough sleep, then you’re not going to lose it.

So here’s to the battle! And here’s to me winning!

Hope this wasn’t too weird or graphic for you. Let me know what you think or if you have any suggestions for me! I’d love to hear them, but please–positivity!

Until next time, this is the Farmer’s Daughter!! Have a good rest of the week, and I’ll see ya’ll Friday!

