YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Only got 3 more days until I get to GO HOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh boy, my first break since August. I must sound like such a sap to some people, but I’m seriously missing home. Text messages and phone calls are great. Skype is even better (if my mom would actually get it) but, in the words of that famous Kansan, “There’s no place like home”.

Ok, on Wednesday I introuduced y’all into my crazy life of weight loss and eating. I know many were worried about me (thank you for your concern! It warmed my heart to know that if I ever did get into that position that I would have so many people that would help me out of it!!) but I update y’all. I did go up past 900 on Monday but then on Thursday and Friday I went again over 900 and Friday I got over 1000 (1172 if you want to know ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) I gained 6 oz and I was like “SERIOUSLY!?!?!?” But it didn’t matter. So yesterday, I decided to try myfitnesspal again and so far I’m enjoying it. Of course, sometimes it’s a pain in the butt, because you have to put everything in, make all the recipes, figure out if every things right, etc. So it’s a bit of a hassle, but I think it will be worth it.

However, I must say–that making sure that I’m getting things I need (adding veggies and eating more protein/complex carbs/fats) I’m actually starting to see better toning in my stomach. I have this last bit of fat around my middle that I’m trying to get rid of, and I’m just like, “duh Lisa. More protein and healthy stuff you put in your body, the better your results”. Not rocket science, but sometimes you just need bonked on the head.

But today is Sunday, so I must give you Sunday’s Seasonings before church starts ๐Ÿ˜€ (and because my recipes are piling up lol)

My first recipe was an Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Breakfast Cookie. I must say, I went out an bought a ramekin just to make this. It was interesting, and I think I put in too much baking soda because it tasted salty. On a grading scale I’d give this a B- to a B. Creativity, it’s a great idea. An Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie for breakfast?!?! HECK YES!!!! Guess this means that I’ll just have to experiment and get it healthier and much better tasting. It registered at 347 calories, but with working with myfitnesspal, I’m beginning to think some of my past calories are wrong.

oatmeal cookie dough breakfast bake

IMG_1819

Now, you might remember when I made a Cauliflower soup, well this is a cauliflower chowder. It tasted about the same as the soup, but I think I prefer the soup to this. Don’t get me wrong–this was tasty, but I had to add cheddar cheese to it (course in our family we add cheddar cheese to EVERYTHING) and then some parsley and pepper in order to give it a bit more flavor. There was also some added 1 oz of turkey to the 1 slice of bacon because there wasn’t enough protein in my mind. But it was still tasty. Make it, taste it, tell me what you think. I don’t remember the calories on this, because some of them got fudged and I don’t think they were right. However, it’s still good for you–so just eat it ๐Ÿ˜›

Cauliflower Chowder

IMG_1842Finished off the rest of my protein bars this past week so I needed to make some more. Now some of you would probably think, “go buy more” but I wanted more protein with less calories. I have a few recipes on my pinterest snack board that I wanted to try, and since they’re there I might as well right?! Well these are Red Velvet Protein bars. They probably could have made 10, but the dough was really sticky and some of them are bigger then the rest. I added red food coloring to the dough to give it the red color because I couldn’t find the chocolate the woman said to get. I also ground up Quaker Old Fashioned Oats in order to make oat flour. The oat flour might have been why it was sticky (or I might have needed more) but these are actually quite amazing!! I was surprised, so it makes me wonder how I’m ever going to choose between these and the others. Guess I’ll just have to make them and see what I think!! So here’s the recipe I made:

4 scoops Lean 15 Vanilla Cream Protein Powder

2 Tbsp whole wheat flour

4 Tbsp oat flour

1-2 Tbsp cocoa powder (could probably actually only use 1)

ยฝ C Unsweetened original almond milk

ยผ tsp vanilla extract

ยผ C dark chocolate chips

9 bars at 48 calories each (according to myfitnesspal)

IMG_1854IMG_1855

Don’t know if you can tell, but the one on the left is the before chocolate, and the right has the chocolate on top (yyyuuummmmmmmmmm)

Yesterday it started to snow and snow and snow…..again…..and because I’m going home I wanted to bring a “Hey Dad and Mom, I’m HOME!!! Here’s our family’s favorite food–BREAD!!!!!” This is a Pumpkin Cream Cheese bread, and get this–makes 2 loaves, and at 14 slices for each bread (unless your my dad, who could probably demolish one in a day) it’s only 60 calories per slice. Of course, me being me, I revised the recipe a bit.

1 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 eggs
1 cup all-purpose flour
2/3 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup Truvia (I don’t like stevia, it has a weird texture to me–but use what you like)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp baking soad
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
For the Cream Filling:
8 oz. fat free cream cheese
1/4 cup Truvia
1 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
(There’s only a few times that I actually use egg whites. I like the full benefit on an egg but you can follow the original recipe if you need to do that. I think the bread tastes great, might not be as tall as it should, but that’s high altitude for ya…….maybe…… :P)

IMG_1862

But yes, it does taste as delicious as it looks!!

Last night I made a salad I call a Broccoli Salad salad. I love broccoli salad (or any other salad that has mayo in it ๐Ÿ˜› ) but I wondered what it would taste like on a bed of lettuce. You might know the traditional broccoli salad, but I revised this for one serving.

  • 1/2 cup romaine lettuce
  • 1.00 tbsp onion diced
  • 1 Tbsp shredded Mild Cheddar Cheese (there’s that cheese again :P)
  • 2 slices Hormel fully cooked bacon (love this stuff!!)
  • 1/2 Tbsp Kraft Mayo Real Mayonnaise
  • 1 heaping Tbsp Fage Total Greek Plain 2%
  • 1/4 cup chopped Frozen Broccoli Florets

IMG_1864

At 134 calories, this is a full-filling salad and oh so good!!

I also made a really easy Egg Drop Soup in order to combat the cold wave that came through. I actually liked this recipe, but I’m always open to try others and find THE BEST one. But this one isn’t bad (lol)

http://cheaphealthygood.blogspot.com/2007/12/mm-mm-good-egg-drop-soup.html

As you guys can see, I do eat and I eat a lot of good things!! I’ll have some more recipes for you next week, but I’ll have to put them up on Saturday because Sunday–I’m HOME!!!! And we’ll be having the Scholz Thanksgiving on Sunday ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll see y’all tomorrow, got some more information on Johnny Cash for ya!

This is the Farmer’s Daughter! Have a great Sunday, and stay warm!!!!

