I have to say that I think the holidays are officially here! This makes me excited, but at the same time–for those of us who are trying to lose weight the holidays can be a bit unnerving and stressful. Or that could just be me. 😛 I finally got to come home after 4 months in the city, and let me tell you, it’s SO AMAZING–I don’t think Dad and Mom are going to be able to get me back in my car to head back (HAHAHA). I had this whole plan about what I was going to do when I got home as too not destroy 4 months worth of work–yeah that went up in smoke when I saw the cookies at my best friend’s bridal shower.

Needed him at the shower 😛

So I gained weight. This kind of depressed me because the fact I went from 149.6 to 151.8 and THEN I had the Scholz Thanksgiving the next day. I was upset with myself because I knew that I would have been fine if I hadn’t indulged myself in so many cookies the day before. My mom actually brought up a very good point: there’s a difference between good calories and bad calories (bad calories meaning sugar). I have a massive sweet tooth, and with one more Thanksgiving meal coming up on Saturday–I have given myself some tips. (I also found them online, but I’m adding some of my own).

1) Workout the morning before and eat a good high protein breakfast.

I’m going to be doing a tough workout the morning before we go. Some study I read said that people who worked out in the morning were more likely to be mindful of what they ate throughout the day. I’m also having a Greek yogurt parfait with tart cherries for breakfast in order to get my protein fill and kick start my metabolism.

2) Drink some apple cider vinegar before the meal

I was talking to a woman from my church who has dropped an AMAZING amount of weight, (SO SO SO SO proud of her!) and she reminded me of drinking ACV before every meal. I was only doing this once a day, but after the fiasco of my 2 pound weight gain, (gosh I sound pathetic), I decided to put this back in. So this whole week I have made 24 oz of water with 6 Tbsp ACV, a dash of chili powder and paprika (actually more then a dash, about 2 tsp of cayenne so…..to your taste I guess and I had to use these because mom doesn’t have cayenne at home), cinnamon, 3 Tbsp lemon juice, 2 second squeeze clover honey, and some stevia in the raw. I drink this about 30 minutes before each meal and so far it’s working nicely. Also drink some water just before eating, that way you’re just a bit fuller when you go for the food

3) You only get 1 plate. Repeat–NO SECONDS!!

This rule is especially hard for me, but I did it at the Scholz Thanksgiving on Sunday and you know what–I was fine. I know that with these type of holidays most people say that you should, “gobble till you wobble”. But here’s the thing. I filled my plate up with everything that I wanted, but only small portions of each (maybe 2-3 bites). Then I sat down and I actually sat down and slowly ate the food. I actually forced myself to eat slowly and enjoy each bite. This might sound strange to you, but ever since grade school, it always seems like I have to wolf down my food–this is bad not only for your waist line because you eat more, but also for your digestion. Sit down, enjoy your food, and you only get one plate. Which leads me to #4–>

4) Eat the things you only get once (or twice if you count Christmas) a year

With our family (at least the Elder’s) it’s all about the green bean casserole. The Scholz’s, homemade chicken and noodle (though we didn’t have it this year). The Harden’s, all about that bake mac and cheese. With all this delicious food, make sure you get the stuff that you only get once or twice a year. But make sure that you make protein your top priority! So I made my plate with small portions of all everything I liked, and believe it or not–I got full off of all of it. Of course, not full enough to skip dessert…..

5) 1 plate (probably a bit smaller) of dessert

Even though I am giving myself these rules, this one I’m worried about because I have a MAJOR sweet tooth. So with this one, I am going to have to watch myself. Just like the food, take small portions of things that disappear fast, and then whatever else. But I’m going to have to watch it. I might take things that disappear fast and then walk away and save the other until later in the day. Since our food sits out all day

6) Get up and do something after eating

Go outside and take a brisk walk around the yard, or if it’s nice get some sort of game going with your family. Play with the little ones, but do something to get your heart rate going after eating.

7) I was going to say something about munching here

I’m going to have to tell you how Saturday goes, but I’m going to have to be very mindful about munching and grazing throughout the day considering that we leave the food out. But because of health issues with my family, there will be a lot of salads, veggies, and fruits–so I’ll have to hit those. But even those need to be eaten in moderation. But I’ll have to watch it because I need to eat to be satisfied, not gobble till I wobble.

8) most importantly–ENJOY YOUR TIME WITH FAMILY!!!!

This is the whole point of the holiday, when it boils down to it enjoy your family time! When you enjoy your family, you’ll forget about food. Love each other, talk with each other, make amends, make memories, laugh, sing, and enjoy the time you have, because you never how much time you have left with each other.

Hope you guys like these tips, and I hope they help. I know that I’m going to have to follow them closely and be mindful–but #8 to me is the most important to me, and that’s what I’m going to focus on. (Just no grazing for me 😛 ) And I’ll be back on Friday to give some thoughts about what to do the day AFTER a fest like Thanksgiving.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!!

gobbleon

