227bfe8bf563368a67d77a8d3735e40c

IT’S FINALLY CHRISTMAS!!!!!!! How did everyone do over Thanksgiving? I’ve heard amazing things from many friends, some actually lost weight (which….made me slightly jealous….) some didn’t gain anything, and me–Saturday at the Elder’s didn’t end as badly as I thought. Sunday I was going to do a “Sunday Seasonings” and talk about some other recipes that I made and then what to do in the aftermath of Thanksgiving, but due to driving back to Denver and trying to deal with the death of a friend, I just couldn’t do it. So I’m going to kind of mash it all into one.

2 new recipes: so the week before Thanksgiving break, I made a Southwest Chicken Salad and then a recipe I saw on Rachel Ray.

The Southwest Chicken Salad was a new experience for me with the “increase my calories” salad. Usually my salads are very low in calories, (even with everything in them), but this salad was 208 calories for this whole bowl. And I loved every minute of eating it–while watching the Chew with the roommates. My recipe looked like this:

  • 1.00 cup romaine lettuce
  • 1 Tbsp sweet corn
  • 2 Tbsp Green Onions
  • 2 Tbsp Canned Black Beans
  • 0.88 oz., Roma tomato (I used half of a little one)
  • 3 oz, Boneless/skinless Chicken Breast
  • 1/4 oz(28g), Mild Cheddar Cheese
  • 1-2 Tablespoons, Light Fiesta Salsa Ranch Dressing

IMG_1875  IMG_1876

Here it is before and then halfway through. Look at all that goodness. And yes, it tasted as good as it looked.

The other recipe that I tried was Kristie Alley’s Parmesan Chicken. I might have to try this one with the full recipe, because I don’t know if it’s just caused I did it for one–but I didn’t really care for it……might have also been the mustard. So I’ll have to try again but you should try it and see what you think.

IMG_1879

http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/recipe/17836_Kirstie_Alley_Parmesan_Chicken_and_Veggies/

Ok, so now that Thanksgiving done, I have to say that I think I followed through with the plan I talked about pretty well…….kind of. I did attack the desserts, but I feel like I went for the healthier stuff more then anything. Ate a lot of veggies, only had my one plate of food and dessert during lunch, and I didn’t munch all day till I ate again at 5. I then went home and did some Rockin’ Body Disco Fever dancing and that probably helped a bit. But I have to say that I truly just sat with my family, enjoyed good food, played games, watched football, and just enjoyed being able to be with my whole family.

IMG_1910 IMG_1921 IMG_1922

My cousin/sister Hayleigh             I love my family time (they all cute)               Our games get pretty intense y’all

Surviving the Thanksgiving Aftermath–> this can work even for Christmas, but Christmas will be different because there are a LOT more sweets involved, but here’s some good advice that I had to take in order to survive my first Thanksgiving while truly working on weight loss.

1) Don’t beat yourself up

This is a hard concept for me still, you can ask my mom as I through a fit as I went into the Elder Thanksgiving at 153.6. I had gained 2 pounds in 2 days without eating really anything, so I was upset. But when I got to the grandparents, and I ate what I did–I just said you know…..maybe this will help me get over any hump I might be at. Yes, I was trying not to gain weight, but hey–it’s about good food and family. So you might gain a few pounds and end up at 156 or 160, but you can lose it just like you did before. As I attacked those desserts a bit more then I should have, I stopped beating myself up–but I did also stop myself a lot when I wanted sweets, and instead turned to veggies. What I’m trying to say, you’ll bing–just get over it and move on.

2) Do some sort of exercise afterwards

Get your cardio up. At my grandparent’s, most of my cousins and I sit downstairs to eat. This means that we have to go up and down when we want to get food. (This probably also helped because it kept me downstairs, away from the food, and I ran those boys every time I did go up.) But even with running stairs, and getting chased by my baby cousin a bit, I went home and did a good dance workout to get my cardio in. This also helped take off my mind that I had a few more sweets then I wanted too 😉 😛

3) Don’t weigh the day after

Like I’ve mentioned before, sometimes that scale can be a cursed thing. There will come a day when I will only step on that thing once a week or once every who-haw week, but until I get toned, have a flat stomach, and get to my finished weight–I still need the scale. However, after days you bing heavily, don’t weigh. It’s only going to make you upset and then go against the first thing I told you not to do–you’ll start beating yourself up. I had a drive to Denver on Sunday and so I just made sure that I didn’t eat any carbs (breads and such), made sure to eat veggies, had lots of protein, and just ate much lower. I also did another dance workout Sunday.

4) Do a cleanse

These past three days I’ve done a “3 day cleanse”. Basically following the 3 Day slim down that Rockin’ Body talks about, so I have a smoothie for breakfast, an apple or celery with peanut butter for my morning snack, a smoothie or protein bar for lunch, a protein shake (with water) or something small for my afternoon snack, and then a salad for supper. During this I also drink lots and lots of water and then green or detox tea through out the day. I’ll see what my final results will be tomorrow, before I go back to eating “real” food again. 😛

But that’s all I got for this Weight loss Wednesday. My brain is almost fried from school—(I HAVE A WEEK LEFT!!!!!!!!!) And due to other things that happened over break, I’m just emotionally drained. I’ll be back Friday if I can and let you know how my “Thanksgiving Recovery/preparing for Christmas” is going.

488246adde43ee18d08eb732e7e10ce4

That in mind, this is the Farmer’s Daughter signing off!! Wish me luck on finals–I’m going to need it 😉

