IMG_1950 IMG_1952Oh, you guys can’t tell me these don’t look FAN-TAS-TIC!!!!! 😉

It’s Friday!!! And luckily it’s been 3 days since I’ve been home and I have to say, I LOVE IT!! Made the fudge and cookies for gifts for roommates/teachers, but luckily I got to bring some home with me. 😛 Most of you are probably like, “uh…sugar cookies and fudge? I thought you were working on weight loss here Lisa?” Oh I am, don’t get me wrong. But it’s Christmas time, and who says you can’t have some fun with it. Even Shaun T. says you can splurge a bit during the holiday season.

But let me set some things up since I’ve been gone awhile. Getting back to school after Thanksgiving, I decided to stop T25. Reasons why:

1) To try a little muscle confusion and see if that helps with that little bit of fat that I have around my love handles still.

2) Help get over this athletic amenorrhea and get back to my regular schedule “lifestyle” (though some people have asked me why, they think it would be great not to have that monthly visit—but I really want it back LOL)

3) Needed something new.

I’ve gotten to my goal of 150 by Christmas break (though I’m sitting at 150.6…which I would like to see the 6 be a 0, or even 145 and high 40s would be okay 😛 ) but I was so worried that I was going to gain weight like I did at Thanksgiving. I think about this and I I’m seriously like, “I’m tired of being frightened of food and that I’m going to gain weight every time I eat.”

My purpose of losing weight wasn’t to be worried about food, (and don’t worry friends–I enjoy sweets, pasta, bread, milk, peanut butter, and everything else to become anorexic. Pinky swear!) but for some reason–I’ve let myself become afraid of it. I look at food and all I see is “weight gain, weight gain, weight gain,” that’s not right though. I do eat healthy. I’ve gotten into this mentality of life where I can look at sweets and not want them, I like eating salads, I understand portion controls, I can tell you what a serving of certain foods are, I switch out fruits for candy, I have on my dresser right now 2 mini bags of mini Reece’s, 2 Cherry Mash’s, a small fun size bag of peanut butter M&M’s–and I haven’t touched them–my self-control can be great sometimes.

It’s other food though, I want to eat pizza, mac and cheese, chicken enchilada’s, eat Chinese, etc, and not be scared.  It’s an interesting concept if you think about it–but here’s what I think. (And I could be wrong, just personal belief). When you want something, you’re going to crave it until you get it, and if you keep yourself from eating it then you’re more likely to go hog-wild when you do. (I’m not quite sure if I haven’t mentioned that before in a post or not, but I think it’s worth repeating 🙂 ) As my mom has told me, with me being who I am and having the genetics I do, I may not be able to ever just get down and then stop. I’m going to have to watch and be mindful of everything I put in my mouth. Not that that’s bad, but just because I probably will have to watch doesn’t mean I have to be “scared of food”. I’m to the point now where I’m looking to tone and become more defined. I’m worried about inches now and not so much about weight– so I’m trying to tell myself–make those enchilada’s and see if dad likes them, eat some pizza, but do it smartly.

1fcdc5aa1f4f92c7c35de1415834b592

With being home, I want to help my dad lose some weight because he needs to for his health as well. To help with his bad back, knees, cholesterol, blood pressure–it would be good for him. Like father like daughter though–he LOVES to eat! So it’s up to me to find healthy recipes that he will like (he’s actually really picky), and easy/simple recipes that my mom can make since both of them work. I’m thinking about adding a few of the THM concepts to my eating as well. That’s my goal while home, and I also think that this will be good for me too because I can also start EATING again. Like real food eating. This way I can teach him what he needs to do, and lets see if I can help him lose some of that weight

Back to my schpiel about Christmas: in my mind, it’s okay to do a little splurging on the Christmas sweets, just don’t go crazy. For me, I brought some cookies and fudge home. But I only have a piece of fudge (just 1) or a cookie at lunch, or I space it out–cookie at lunch, fudge at supper or vice versa. Enjoy the season guys, that’s what it’s all about. Just be smart, use your head, and remember that you need to eat healthy but it’s okay to have some fun!

And here’s something I thought was a bit cool:

IMG_1927

These were my favorite pair of jeans. When I first got to Denver, they were skin tight, and even after Thanksgiving (probably can’t tell) but they aren’t so skin tight anymore 😀

 Enjoy Christmas everyone and I’ll be back with some new recipes I’ve tried…or will try….getting to it 😛

