Ok, so let’s be honest–I’ve been slacking off on these πŸ˜› School really has been quite insane and by insane I mean–my brain is about to explode. I have 2 huge papers which have writer’s block on both, a speech coming up at the end of March, my recital is in 2 weeks, and a huge giant financial project for my music business analysis class. So needless to say–February has been slightly stressful and I really didn’t know what to write about Fitness Friday wise. With that in mind I think I found something, so here it goes!

January and February haven’t been the best months for me “weight loss” wise. It took me up to February just to get down to 154, and it’s here that for the past 25 days I have been stuck at. Yesterday and today, I was surprised to find myself down into 153, but that’s not really what I want to talk about. πŸ˜›

Since January, I have been doing Shaun T’s Rockin’ Body because 1) needed to let my body have a break from all the INSANITY!!! and 2) because I had plateaued tone wise. Nothing was happening, those pooch and love-handles weren’t going away, and I figured that I needed to try some thing different for muscle confusion. And it’s been going great! I have lost about an inch–but here’s where things get sticky for me.

With everything that has been going on, I think I have under-lying stress (stress that I’m not admitting is there), and I think it’s starting to play mind-tricks on me. That lower belly pooch has always been a huge problem for me. I’ve taken all the “body type” tests, listened to all the tips and tricks, and I’ve come to the decision that THAT is the spot where all my weight sits. And by jove, it has to be the spot that is the HARDEST to lose. (YAY ME!!!!!) And here’s where the mind-trick is coming in…I beginning to look in the mirror and see myself, but I don’t see the girl that has lost 63 pounds–I’m still that girl that “fat” girl!

94e3j9

Β Me, I’m the person that wants results NOW!! I’ve only been on this journey for 3 years and I’m still not to where I want to be (close and getting there) but still not there. I’m not a patient person, and when I don’t see results I really do get discouraged and so in the words of me very wise mother, “don’t get discouraged as you work for another breakthrough. It will come when it’s ready.” It’s something to remember. I once heard that your body will hold it’s weight some times while the inches are being lost. Inches then the weight. It happened to me this summer, I was at a steady 186 and then right when I was about to leave for Denver (and ate hamburgers and stuff at the fair πŸ˜› ) the weight started shed off after the inches went away.

Another thing that my wise mother has told me (she read it somewhere and I have too), that the lower belly pooch is controlled by the rest of the body, and so to lose it you have to work the whole body. You would think that with everything that I have done food wise, workout wise, etc–I would be as skinny as a twig XD — with this in mind, here’s what I’m going to do to get over this state that I am.

1) I’m going to let my body do what it needs to do.

If that means staying at the same weight while the inches go away–alright! I just have to keep reminding myself where I once at to where I am now.

2) Start running again, oh and adding weights

I stopped running because running on a treadmill does get really old, I started Insanity, and after a while it was hurting my knees. (The fact I was bored with it and started Insanity was the real reason though). I think that getting a good hard cardio workout will help, that and doing more with the 5 pound weights and resistance band I have, will help with that pooch too.

3) Reverse Crunches, Bicycles, and leg holds.

They explain themselves right? πŸ˜›

and

PLANK!!

There was a movement my last year of high school called “board”….or was it plank…but anyway, someone would yell it out and where ever you were you would lay on your stomach and “plank”. But these planks are the kind that are a total body workout! Since doing a 5 minute plank workout every other day, I have seen some changes–so I can contest that they do work.

0225a07ca625582dbef4bf708e93cad8

4) Shaun T’s Extra 5

They kill you in five 1 minute exercises, and are great little pushes when your dead tired from your workout.

and the last thing I’m going to focus on

5) not being afraid of oil and good fats

I’ve added unsalted butter, extra virgin olive oil, and coconut oil (especially coconut oil) into my diet. I also eat to be satisfied, not a certain amount of calories, but satisfied. I also eat with the amount of work I’ll be doing. So Mondays and Wednesdays I eat more (over 1000), Tuesdays and Thursdays just under 1000 and then Fridays are usually high (except now during Lent in which I am fasting) and then Saturday is slightly low. Sunday is what I call “Sunday Funday”, so I eat basically whatever I want but it amazingly stays really low. Satisfied not full. (oh, and I will also be adding fruit back into my eating plan like apples, and I’m not going to be afraid of having some sort of “sweet” when I crave it–even if it does drive me over on the calories πŸ˜› ).

7f999d9f559b0478435409648ec8d7d9

We’ll see where things go from here!! What do you guys think? Am I on the right track? I think that this is the best thing for me right now. That’s what I got for the first Fitness Friday of the year! Until next time (tomorrow πŸ˜› ), this is the Farmer’s Daughter!!!!

