We’ve now come to probably my favorite time of year–like seriously, my favorite time of year! I know, I know. You’re probably all thinking, “oh dear night, she’s one of THEM.” And….you’d be right 😛

santascoming

Okay so yes, I do listen to Christmas music in October, and dream about all the food at Thanksgiving, and know for a fact that I’m going to be ridiculously busy until January 1st–but I wouldn’t have it any other way. (I’ll quote a movie here) There are some people who look at the holidays as the worst time of year. That their favorite day is December 26th. But that’s the saddest day for me.

ztdcqbp

I had to wonder why I’m such a holiday nut? (Or probably more, a Christmas nut) Why are the holidays so special to me? I think the main reason the holidays are so special to me, is because there is still a mystery to me about the holidays. There is still a bit of childish wonder that just makes me so happy and gives me a warm feeling all over.

Growing up, our parents always made Thanksgiving and Christmas feel special. Family gatherings on both sides were filled with love, family, and amazing food. We would watch the Macy Day Parade’s, football, and Christmas movies. Every Black Friday, my mom, brother, and I would put up all the Christmas lights. Dad and David would put up the house lights and the star on the manager. And when it was dark, I would watch in wonder, as the house was flooded in different colored lights.

73761dad63ea35bb511ad538e699ae49

So maybe having a good family experience at the holidays helped with my love for the season. But a lot of people grow out of that. I think, however, that with how the world is right now—maybe having some childlike wonder isn’t a bad thing. Seeing the world how we did when we were kids, and let the magic of the season bring the mystery of it to life. Remembering that the holidays are not a time to despair and be grumpy about; but instead, reaching into us and finding what the holidays really mean to us. So some advice from me—a person who got these and who’s life is better for it, and can’t wait to share it with my man and kids when that time comes:

Return to that childlike wonder.

Remember the real reason for the season.

Embrace your inner child and don’t be afraid to dream and be amazed.

Don’t try to solve every problem.

Make a snow angel.

Drink hot coco.

Make Christmas cookies.

Eat pumpkin pie.

Play with your cousins.

If you got kids, spend time with them.

Get off the electronics.

Trim the tree together.

Drive everyone around the neighborhood to look at lights.

Hug your grandparent’s necks.

Forgive someone who’s hurt you.

Love on those around you.

Don’t yell at fellow shoppers.

Pay it forward.

Don’t tell kids Santa isn’t real.

Watch sappy Christmas romance movies.

Read a book.

Turn off all the lights and just leave on the tree.

Snuggle up with someone you love.

Create memories!

hallmark-let-it-snow-photo-11tistheseasonforlove6

